Potion of Emotion

I took a snapshot of you, a freeze framed photograph,

recorded in my mind with the blink of an eye.
Before, I was blind and didn’t think of the sublime serenade of wonder

whistling through me like the wind with electric emotion

causing sudden chills of fear down my spine…
The commotion caused my stride to stutter,

not daring to utter but stumble and mumble

in the minutely married moment that printed a picture of you in my heart.
My senses surrendered as you stole a glance and gave the game of love a chance,

choosing to believe you had me on the brink and we could link.
Indeed I had to heed the warning that my head and heart were warring with the notion from the brew of loves potion, as I pondered and chanced your presence.
I tried to look away but was captured with enrapture and seemed to sway under your spell with an intoxicating intake of breath, drowning in the sensuous smell of seduction.
Mixed up in the middle of this melting pot of passion,

my reason to restore some sense and logic to the situation,

rescued me from following in the footsteps of feeling,

reeling back in the hook line and sinker I cast to catch a glimpse of grandeur.
Suffice to say the sumptuous sight of one so endowed with such a mysterious aura

plays a song for all seasons in my soul, chorusing with melodies of memories.

Memories plunged in my system,

Controlled by my desire,

And christened by Emotion……

hhh

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

