My Definition of a Real Man.

My definition of a real man is different from the book;

Blunt as a crook, flowing like a brook

More than just a look…

To some women, it’s mostly about his physical

characteristics; a blatant defiance of standards

that is intertwined in wealth, status and looks…

A perception created in these times by society

and the media, overlooking the most essential

aspects that should define a real man…

But i won’t leap, crumble in a bid to impress society

and fall short in my perception of a real man..

Everyone has a definition of a real man;

for every man and woman, there are bits included

that fit the description;

some based on experience, standards and expectations…

Mine encompasses characteristics, with no

proper definition…

Woven into aspects like,

Respect, responsibility, trust, empathy, love and more…

A real man comes in different shades,

giving off different vibes…

My real man comes with a shady Hue,

He bears the pain of many souls..

A Hustler to my every need,

Lover for life,

A soldier to the end…

With pain etched on his face,

he struggles through the crazy world

for his family…

A strength manifested by his actions,

keeping the faith through each day..

A lover through and through,

even on stormy nights-

Amidst controversy, anger, stereotype

and societal labeling..

Wearing the perfume of respect,

intelligence and understanding his roles

as a man, father, and husband…

Without restraint, nor hesitation to a home

he knows…

A man who understands that as he ages,

He will need someone who will always have his back

than someone who will always turn his head…

Persistence to the end-

He isn’t defined by his status in society,

the money he makes, what he has or all

the material things…but by his heart and soul…

Which are a part of his attributes,

as a loving, caring, hardworking responsible, respectful

man…

That is my real man…

my own definition, tight as the best hook

to an old skool jam…

A definition only a real woman recognizes

and respects.

true

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “My Definition of a Real Man.”

Leave a Reply

