Nostalgia

Hot flashes still on my mind, days gone by…

Years aged with sweetness, and memories still afloat…

Memories of my childhood as I vividly recall

Fulfilling gems that made me laugh and cry,

Of games on the street, visiting friend’s houses,

Sneaky daunts in the closet as mama prepared dinner

Scary stories by the fire, soft sound of drums all

lavished by the fire as I cuddled in my mama’s arms

Of laughter and screams as I played with my sisters

birthday parties and dinners all graced in cushions,

balloons and eclairs…all daunting with joy as I sit

back and reminisce…

Christening with the sweet neighborhood I grew up in,

with friends in each flat, perhaps my notable was Christmas…

shopping with papa and my sisters, sweet smell of cupcakes

sound of Christmas carols across the block I often paved…

Cards in my pocket as I happily delivered Christmas cards

to my neighbors…the rosy crisp on Christmas day, the calm

as I painted in floral and sweet colors, ribbons in my hair

A remarkable innocence that makes me feel nostalgic,

the church bells and sweet choruses all cherished in purity and verse

Dinners to fill to fill, with exquisite foods and wine, all dined

to last…

The spark of the new year as all children in the neighborhood

gathered to burn trees, glitters in the dark as we burst up balloons

in competition, loud laughter as we held hands and viewed the fireworks,

A new year, a new age…each dawn colored, wishes and dreams all woven…

A smile on my face as mama rocked me to sleep; feelings of safety and happiness

That was my moment, painted and colored by innocence and naivety,

Pearls drawn up in floral patterns, daisies in a line and petals on the sidewalk

i often played…

“Fill my glass papa, fill it up…..let us toast to a new year…” I speak with enthusiasm..

“Step aside Carolyne, pose for a photograph…your ribbons look good in your hair,

Smile baby, smile……..see the flash…that’s it…”

Oh my latent favorite picnics with papa and my sisters …sights and sounds of nature

Long walks by the botanical gardens, sweet memories of togetherness as we visited

the zoo…sand towers at the beach as i collected shells and dipped in the lake

I miss my childhood; I miss the innocence…all44444444444444444 at once I recall, with a depth of

joy and nostalgia, I pay my homage to you…my childhood,

Once upon a time, when I was a child…..

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

