Last Night when i visited Africa ….

Last night through an evoking journey

I visited Africa; my mind dawned on the rivers,

mush vegetation and the magic of ethnicity.

Deep into the heart of the motherland,
i once took to safari
to discover the secrets of culture.

The diversities that lay within the race

among the districts, cultural settings,

close to edge where I tread,
i saw a flower in blossom

On the lush vegetation of the savannah
shining like in its first day of bloom

Like an untamed beauty; a virgin

gifted with breath taking tourism,

with marveling beauty, an exquisite scenery

warm climate and beautiful people

Overwhelmed by the life, and smiles on their faces,

i knew i was home…

Like music to my ears, close depth of happiness in my soul,

as children run around the homestead laughing and singing

I loathed the days of my youth and memories

of sweet happy music,

that often played at dawn,

rumbling beats of the drums, folk tales of the past,

i cringingly listened with enthusiasm

like it had all just happened yesterday,

i knew the essence in it all

and loved it…

Thus I pay my homage,
Poetic tribute not mere prose.
i give to her this piece of me,
and not some mystic dream that happened

Last night when I visited Africa…guud

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

