I Love you – ( Who says it first? )

Say it when you feel that way

Say it when you mean it…

Do not hold on to your feelings

about someone or choke on them

Just because you are afraid of

Saying “I love you”, first or

worse, afraid of rejection.

There is no precise formula to say

I love you.

Not everyone develops love or

expresses it at the same time

It’s more of a gradual process

and a combination of different aspects

in some people and happens fast for others.

Bringing into consideration the part played

by timing…

For some people, timing is more important than

honesty and self disclosure. They follow through

a series of calculations and more to determine

when to declare love to a potential partner,

also taking into perspective the timing for a reciprocal

answer to the declaration – forgetting that there are different

paces at which love develops in everyone.

The perception that a man should be the one to say it first-

And that there should be a time frame totally accepted in

declaring love to a potential partner makes it worse

It doesn’t matter who says it first,

where they say it, or when they say it –

As long as it is from the heart.

Perceived potential, cannot perceive it’s inevitable

implementation.

What matters is the profundity of your relationship.

Don’t wait for the right time to tell him how you feel

Don’t determine a period befitting your declaration

of love for her…

Much as it makes sense sometimes to wait, allowing a period

for the relationship to grow, it makes no sense being a slave

to passion.

Say it when it feels right

Express your feelings as they come…

Do not be afraid to rejection –

Love is a beautiful thing…

Doesn’t matter who says I love you first,

Just say it.

7d7c2615963ffe7b5afc66697bedd7ad

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

