The Grim Poet

Strange howls, dark cold alleys
close no told mysteries
stories in the stipulating quiet,
through the case to book shelf
down the flickering lights in the study,
a tale of a poet in parchments;
an inscribed reel in her heart
drowned in shredded pieces of ancient
poetry as she scribbled in quiet liquid strides

The flimsy gray is lost in memories,
patched moments; a prelude to the wind
christening cynical smiles drawn close
in remembrance of her youth….

Drawn like climes full of sunshine,
her smile tells of faded joys in
careful patches; afraid that nuance
might get in the way, so is her pride
now salvaged in old shreds and random
scribbles lost in a twilight lest she flees
before the blazing light!!

“Forbid all my joys”, she screams in anger–
for all told and lived, her sorrows age,
through the folds on her skin, her glimmering hands
chorused in a tumultuous song, a song of life
This is her redemption almost fading in closed
calligraphy from the rain, now astound in a monument
that she might be remembered….

How cruel life can be!

12343

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

