A Mother’s Soul ( For all Mothers)

The eyes are the windows to the soul

A mother’s soul bears sincerity and truth

Loving, nurturing and kind

For her heart is vast and glorious.

Her breasts have fed many nations

Her strong arms have carried many burdens

without restraint, or complaints.

With pain etched on her face,

worry wrinkling her brow,

persistence, strength and determination

she has made it through.

As a mother, ever loving, caring and strong.

For all the love that you freely give

The undivided attention in between conversations

Truth manifested in your words

Love caressed in your actions

For all the joy shared in between hugs

Your patience when everything is cold

Your strength when things seem hard

A faith that doesn’t falter through hardships

Endurance and good grace each time she speaks

Mother, your Love is power to me.

Many times your faith has been tested

Doubt and controversy dawned your glories

Days when you thought that you couldn’t

make it -but faith and hope caressed

you through those times

kept you warm through the cold

a sweetness that comforted your arms

as you nurtured and cared for your family everyday

raising your children to be the best

even when they made you angry

for children can be difficult sometimes

Teaching your children all that you know

bestowed in virtues that they must keep

patience and good grace that they must remember

christened in good character and personality-

favored by truth, honesty, respect, and love.

For all that you have done

For all that you have given

For all that joy you have brought

into my life.

Mother, I am proud of you.

Mother, I appreciate your struggle.

Here is my appreciation in Poetry,

not just mere prose

I give you my tribute,

Thank you, Mother.

I love you, Mother.

34

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

