For my Daughter. ( A Mother’s appreciation)

Take care of her well, said the Mother to the Nanny
every Monday morning as she set off to work.
December she celebrates another birthday,
perhaps the dawn of a new moon.
A sweet enchantment to all the glories
i have known- I’m getting older.
But she’ll never be 2 years and 5 months again.
Time may have rushed by as i clasped my hands every day
to thank God for all the joy in my life.

Through all the struggles in those moments, my baby

grew up somehow beautiful and strong and

i still close in yonder and wonder how.

She’s grown so fast; tall, smart, pretty and free.
In her eyes, through that sweet witty smile,
i see a portrait of me.
Her eyes may be beautiful with each gaze,
that’s her granny you see.
But her funny laugh and nappy hair,
she gets that from me.

As the days close by every day, i await patiently for
Saturday, a moment to hold, cherish through
all this crazy and tipsy turvy blues.

Endurance through the week, moments i often long for.
All i might have had and still caress through
these times, she closes that void that i miss now.
Warmth through these times, when everything is cold.
Perhaps i wouldn’t write all, or explain best but
like an ancient tale through love’s bliss, she is my gem.

So, Hold close to Manuela, said the Mother to
the Nanny. Tuck her in sweet, say a prayer and
read her a story every night.
All that duff, games and crazy isn’t what she’ll
remember…
But the sweet kisses before bedtime, that porridge
often fixed right, the melodies at dawn for she
loves to sing. It’s these little things that we forget
but she’ll always remember as she grows.
Watch how sweet and gentle i caress, soothe and
play with her. See the love i bestow lost in those
moments i often chance through these short lovely times.
For i might not be here every day, even moments she might
recognize, but she still remembers to call me “Mummy”.

©Floetry 2015

1222

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

