Tears of a Man. ( Perception)

His feelings are hidden,

softness is forbidden.

Valiance for each venture.

even through pain, anger, and despair.

A strength he caresses, his perfect disguise

through the storm for he has been taught not to cry

and often told that crying is a sign of weakness.

Pain etched on his face, worry wrinkling his brow

Lines of depression on his skin, a hue of purple

mahogany walking around with a stone face,

pouting his mouth, irritable and angry,

disappointed, lashing out at those around him

and afraid of his own shadow.

A corpse’s delight after dark.

Afraid to show his emotions, concealing his true feelings

and pain, breaking down inside all the while.

He is afraid to cry, for the perception of weakness.

He can’t break down because the world will shun and label him.

He holds on to his pain and feelings of despair, building up

emotions which kill him every day.

Unaware that tears cleanse the soul and are nature’s ways of healing.

Forgetting that tears are a reflection of his feelings

and emotions, all a part of being human.

A truth embroidered in the fact that he is alive and

has true emotions, hurts and can feel pain.

Brother, there is nothing wrong with crying.

A real man is in touch with his emotions,

understands his feelings and expresses them freely.

Understands pain, disappointment, despair, sadness

as a part of being human and isn’t afraid to cry.

Accepting his weakness, for strength is overrated.

Every man has a breaking point.

So darling, do not hold on to your feelings and emotions.

Express yourself openly to me. Do not break down inside,

yet my love, understanding and compassion can heal you.

Let me comfort and console you. Let us cry together.

I will share your pain, for your pain is my pain.

I won’t think you weak, but I will be your strength

through your pain and transform your tears into tears of joy.

©FloetryC 2015.

2

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

