An African woman’s love Song ( I chant my Love for you…)

My King, My heart beats for you like the fading sounds

from the African drum through the winding stretch from

the plains of the savannah as young children sway on.
With each twirl, i am enchanted by your Love.

Through nights, i hold on close to you- sweetness told

through throngs of passion as you feel my silky soft black

skin smeared with shear butter and my nappy African hair

hardened and coiled through the day- yet soft after a wash

a funky delight for corn rows and Bantu toots. A patrician

beauty with voodoo hips, an allure only peculiar to me.
Sprung from humility, a defiant intelligence i reckon with

Calmness in speech, kindness i can’t fathom. You light up my world!
Respect borne through the years, the sweetest cuisine i have come

to love. My king, you are my most prized possession. A piece of my gem,

closed through the entailing journeys of the Pearl of Africa, my heart sings for you.

My own embrace through this cold world, a comfort through the storm.

A love when everything else seems uncertain, a companionship that isn’t

equitable to material things because our love doesn’t require exaggeration.

My King, let’s wrap in bark-cloth like our ancestors. Fill my waist and my neck

with beads, bangles on my hands and ankles and let’s sway to the beats of

the African drum and toast with a calabash of local beer. Let’s create our own

marriage feast with the best cuisine and recall tales of the past by the fire.
Let me sit on your lap. Let’s take it easy, laugh and joke with our teeth out.
Stay close and late to look at the moon, count the stars and chant love songs

in unison to the essence of the night, beauty of our souls.
Let’s lay deep by our hut, mock the crickets as they make those sounds.
Whisper through the dark close to hear your heart beat.
The freshness of your black skin, sweetness of your breath

until you bend and kiss me like the modern man.

My King, let me chant my love for you. Walk besides you with my head

held up high because i am your African Queen. Let’s strut by the side-walk

with pride because of the gift of love that we share.

Smile on my King, walk with pride. Hold close to me and let’s caress many

moons as they come. Our love is forever. I love you my King.

©FloetryC 2015

LYSy-q4vOaje2rBuTKKQAMrVsQ0GPQRlXfKY3vzc4Vg=s202-p-no

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

