Selfie Obsession ( Woes of a selfie addict)

It’s the Selfie Generation. She’s taking selfies everywhere!

A selfie before bedtime, a selfie soon as she gets out of

bed, a selfie in the bathroom, a selfie by the side walk, a

selfie while she takes a meal, a selfie while driving, a selfie

at a funeral, a selfie in hospital. Selfie addiction is smudged

on her face. The urgent need to document every detail of her

life in colored photographs and share on Face book, twitter

and Instagram. Hash tag selfie, me.

It’s her personal caress from the real world.

She reeks of self-centeredness. Splitting captions on ignited

pixels to gain cheap chuckles. Screaming for attention, fake

self wannabe oozing desperation. In a world where people

are judged based on their social media profiles, her life is a

race for comments and likes. Her image is digitized and

marginalized on screen to please.

Juggling between vanity and identity, a picture perfect life

accentuated by self conscious cropping of images, pixel

presentations, illuminating eyes and eradicating spots.

A warped perception of beauty she has grown accustomed to,

moments she doesn’t want to disclose, somber sadness

depicted on her filtered version of reality meant to caress a

perfect illusion. It’s not easy for her to love herself in a world

obsessed with image.

Her portrait on the wall of the internet is her greatest false

accomplishment. Puffed up with layers and layers of makeup,

pouty smeared lips with different shades of lipstick, the sexy

duck face and the flawless sparrow are her signature celebrity

looks. Slightly tilting her face to capture the perfect look.

Playing the role of an artist at a dress rehearsal, different

costumes for each selfie, poses in impossible angles,

different shapes, sometimes zoomed.

Drawing different patterns to achieve an illustrative look, a lot

of cleavage and booty primped on screens screaming attention.

In a society with a twisted perception of beauty and success,

she aspires to be noticed, celebrated and admired as a beautiful

perfect woman with an amazing life, living a fabulous lifestyle.

Selfie addiction logic: See me, i am perfect. Like me, my life is perfect.

 

©FloetryC 2015

selfie 2selfie

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

4 thoughts on “Selfie Obsession ( Woes of a selfie addict)”

Leave a Reply

