Husband, not boyfriend. (Literally speaking)

Forgive me if i refer to you as my husband because the word

boyfriend is very degrading for a mature love that transcends

fantasies, X’s and O’s and paper smooches. A real relationship

away from games, unrealistic expectations and demands.

Forgive me if i call you my husband because in your eyes i see

visions of forever. Not to dismiss the perception and true meaning of

marriage, the legal inferences and vows attached to the

institution but in my heart, you are my husband. Our souls

connected in a magnificent gaze from the genesis of our first

rendezvous signaling the sweet rhythmical beat of our hearts.

Our minds merged to form a strong bond combining all our

elements, complimenting each other in a true companionship;

respecting and understanding one another.

Forgive me if i borrow your last name for a while because you

are a part of me, my world. Your name is printed on my mind;

your love touches the deepest spot of my heart to a point

where true love dwells. In you, i see our future unfold before

my eyes. A lifetime companionship embroidered in forever.

As your woman, your wife, your friend.

More than a lover, more than a boyfriend.

Forgive me if i treat you like my husband because you deserve it.

Giving you all the special attention and benefits of a husband.

Catering to you my love because you are a part of me.

Giving you all of my love and all of me every day.

Fixing your meals on time, doing all your laundry

and whatever you need. A special freak show for my husband.

Taking up many roles just to please you; as your best friend, lover, and wife.

Forgive me if i tell everyone that you are my Husband because someday

soon, you’ll make an honest woman out of me in a beautiful ceremony.

We’ll make a promise of our love in front of the whole world in a binding

ceremony ending at forever. We’ll be man and wife and i will stand besides

you, not behind you or in front of you. Walking side by side, working

together, loving and respecting you as my Husband.

Forgive me if i ignore the legal commitment for now and make you my husband

because you’re the Love of my life and in my heart, you’re my husband.

For now my Love, let me call you my Husband because you’re all the man

that i need. My missing rib, a man created especially by God for me, only for me.

So, forgive me if i refer to you as my Husband instead of boyfriend

because the word, boyfriend doesn’t suit you.

The description is beneath us for we are more than dates and dinners,

a whirl wind romance and a series of boyfriend/girlfriend ensemble.

A mature loving relationship leading to marriage.

Darling, can i call you my Husband?

©FloetryC 2015

67812

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “Husband, not boyfriend. (Literally speaking)”

Leave a Reply

