Irreconcilable Differences. (Divorce in these times)

The reasons for divorce were almost justifiable.

They filed for divorce on the grounds of

irreconcilable differences. A catchy legal phrase

most sufficient in these times. A catchy trend

meant to conceal the real reasons for divorce,

words marinated by two people who do not want

to make an effort to make their marriage work.

A series of flaws and sabotaged doubts,

marinated lies and inconsistencies.

Moralistic principles twisted, blame game

caressed. Played out feelings and bitter

recollections discouraging their windows

of opportunity and closing their doors of

connectivity. Somewhere between their

inception and conception, they lost their

sense of connectivity.

Instances of lost compassion, fleeting passion

accentuated by echoes and broken tracks.

They are like old mix tapes people don’t listen

to anymore. Constantly arguing, and fighting.

Less compromise and understanding. Broken

promises, stashed vows. A declaration of till death

do us part forgotten. Togetherness and companionship

discarded. Two people walking around with the ambiguity

of individuality. Clutching onto the phrase, irreconcilable

differences like straws. There is no room for reconciliation

now. The reasons for divorce are valid and justifiable.

Irreconcilable differences.

©FloetryC 2015

34rrt

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

