Everyday is Valentine’s day. (Love should be celebrated everyday)

I don’t need to elucidate fashion by wearing

red on Valentine’s day to conduct a parade

for one day.

I don’t want the cliché cards, greetings and

blunt poetry lines that everyone gets.

I don’t want the fake paper smooches and

the corny platitudes in card racks at the store

imitating love.

I don’t desire a perfect orchestrated romance

with red roses that will wither synonymously

with the occasion- chocolates and wine whose

taste will disappear faster in my mouth as

truth beckons.

I don’t want a fake candle light dinner, slow jams

and sweet sensual vibes that will fade at the close

of midnight and cripple my mind with the cruel

pangs of reality.

 

 

Don’t fill me with gifts, and love for just one day.

Profess your love for me every day.

Don’t give me a superficial serenade synonymous

to a carnival procession- as fleeting as time.

Give me breath- taking, mind blowing moments

wrapped in forever- creating a funeral march in

my heart.

Don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day because society

approves and dictates that you must show love

for me on that day.

Celebrate me every day with love, respect as your

woman, true companion and lover.

Don’t masquerade me for just a day, masquerade

me for 365 days.

 

 

Love isn’t a one day affair nor defined by occasion.

Love is spontaneous and should be celebrated

every day with true intentions.

It’s in the little things- Gratitude and appreciation-

Sweet kisses and caresses to last, to last.

Music that dictate our emotions and feelings in

a heart song. Souls intertwined in a love web,

bodies gliding rhythmically to passion, minds

connected and sharing dreams together.

Heart beats resonating in perfect sync to love

vibrations.

Hands that won’t go cold during harsh times.

Warm hugs when everything else is old.

Love that just won’t turn my head and camp

for only a night, but comfort, support and stay

with me forever.

 

 

Love without reservations, more than just a

Valentine’s Day celebration.

Love appreciated and celebrated every day.

 

 

 

©FloetryC 2016

67812

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

