Vintage Soul (Young body, Old soul)

I have a beautiful thing inside me that is a thousand

years old.

 

I am an old soul trapped in a young woman’s body.

Living life in a different era, fighting my way through

this generation.

I am that vintage soul always sniffing through antique

shops and flipping pages of historical books.

Traversing through blissful euphoria in a time machine,

and getting lost in a nostalgic trance.

 

 

My eyes tell a story with its old window shutters

revealing a medieval woman in the romantic era

lost in William Blake’s “Songs of innocence”.

I am that African woman of the 19th Century drowning

in Phillis Wheatley’s beautiful poetry.

I am the reflective and inspired black woman of the 20th

Century reading poems by Maya Angelou, Pablo Neruda

and Langston Hughes.

I am the new age floetic vintage soul of the 21st Century

reliving my memories as a poet, writing my own poetry

and inspiring readers with my spoken word Poetry.

A young face with an old mind, a young body with an old heart.

 

 

I am the multifaceted sensual voice of soul and blues

jamming to smooth, romantic classics.

Nodding my head, snapping my fingers, and doing the

soul train line dance to the sounds of the temptations,

the spinners, the O’Jays, Four tops, Al Green and Sam cook.

I am the funky black woman doing the running man, butterfly

and the electric slide to old skool hip hop and RnB music.

 

I am the dreamer always watching the classics.

A sucker for Turner classic movies and hooked on old skool.

Reliving beautiful memories in Love and basketball, Love Jones,

Jason’s lyric, Brown Sugar, and Dead Presidents.

Replaying movie scenes, swinging to the vibes and imitating

beautiful movie acts.

 

 

 

I am an old soul clad in clothes of the 21st century.

A prayerful woman with a strong belief in God and miracles.

A hopeless romantic who still believes in Love, chivalry and

the beauty of romance.

A caring, intelligent woman who appreciates respect, kindness,

forgiveness, honesty, gratitude, empathy and truth.

A woman who understands imperfection and mistakes.

Constantly swooning over my old fashioned beliefs and

perceptions on life and love in a judgmental world riddled

with hate and selfishness; filled with moral degradation.

 

 

I am a Vintage soul.

Too old to fill a music album

Too old to be put in a poetry anthology.

Too old to fit in an art gallery.

Too old to be loved by everyone.

Too old for B.S.

 

 

©FloetryC 2016

34567

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

