Woman (Bluntly speaking)

8th March was International Women’s day

and i didn’t feel festive at all!

Curled up alone with my thoughts, i recited

my vagina monologues to the wind.

The soft caresses on my pen went ignored as

my poetry drifted into a silent mode and i

watched the world obsess about my feminine

body and what it means to be woman.

 

Womanhood is celebrated every day.

My femininity doesn’t require validation nor

do i have to explain what being woman means

to me.

 

Being a woman is more than just a look, more

than all the poetry i have written, much more

than my sexy petit derriere and all that entails

my external facade.

 

Being a woman is the fire that sparks inwardly out

when she speaks.

Being a Woman is the beauty reflected from her soul.

Being a woman is in the way she walks, confidence

exuded, respect never ceasing.

Being a woman is in the way she treats other people,

with tolerance and respect.

Being a woman is in the love she gives her husband,

and children.

Being a woman starts from the mind, and is nurtured in

the heart.

Being a woman is being resilient.

 

 

A woman understands that her physical beauty is just

a bonus but true beauty comes from within.

A woman appreciates her sexuality and doesn’t use

it as a tool to get what she wants.

 

A real woman is comfortable in her skin, loves her body,

embraces who she is, and delights in being true and

honest to herself and others.

A woman loves herself and rises up amidst challenges.

A woman is amazing.

 

She is prayerful, ever faithful with an unfaltering faith.

She is a woman with a beautiful soul, a beautiful mind,

and a kind heart.

She is more than a woman.

 

She is:

As Phenomenal as Maya Angelou

As Inspirational as Rosa Parks

As Enlightening as Oprah Winfrey

As Confident as Audre Lorde

As Insightful as Angela Davis

As Intelligent as Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

As Resilient as Wangari Maathai

As Motivational as Madame C.J Parker

As Amazing as Donyale Luna

As Powerful as Michelle Obama.

 

She is Queen.

 

 

©FloetryC 2016

sistas

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “Woman (Bluntly speaking)”

Leave a Reply

