My Spoken Word.

I am lulled by the sound

of words.

A cipher for words,

vigorous and courageous.

Heavenly eloquence

fermented out of

old wine skins.

Strong like the strings

of the violin.

Black and white as the

keys of the piano.

Resonating with the

sound of the African

drum after the harvest.

 

My spoken word is

equivalent to syncopated

dance music.

An expression of soul

music.

Fusion of lyrics following

a rhythmical pattern of

beats and vibrations.

My truth is professed

in print and confessed

at poetry recitals.

 

My words are clothed

in nonentity.

I am an African

word designer dressed

in an alluring, revealing

verbal musk making my

way to the International

Spoken Word red carpet

event.

Walking in heels like

they’re stilts in italics

across these pages, slurring

my poetic truth to a

sober audience.

 

I am an obese lyrical Queen

living without medication.

Hooked on a word fattening

diet and constantly hiding

from controversial lyrical

dietitians.

 

I merge my emotions in

verse and express my

feelings in a poetic flow.

Combining my conscious

and unconscious in an

intimate word play.

I strip naked in public without

shame to expose my defenses

hidden in metaphors and rhyme.

Speaking my peace with

freedom of speech.

 

I am the mad grammatical artist

with my enunciated

diction constantly hovering

anxiously at the back of your mind.

Haunting you with my Spoken truth.

Streaming emotions with woven

words across these pages.

Pregnant with ideas, giving birth

to truth in a world living under

the veil of society.

 

 

©FloetryC 2016

345678

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “My Spoken Word.”

Leave a Reply

