Please, Teacher! (Literally)

Please, Teacher!

Do not preach to me about Love

when you don’t believe in it.

Do not resurrect feelings of love

inside my heart with no intention

of nurturing and staying.

 

Do not embark on a journey

without a destination.

I am not a detour.

 

Do not make love to my mind,

kiss my deepest thoughts, strip

me of my conscience and leave

me seething for more with your

divided heart.

 

Do not feed me with images of

forever, put me up on the shelf

with a love that has an expiry date.

 

Do not mis-educate me with

your skewed perceptions

about relationships.

Spare me from the boring story

about time and heart break.

I have also been hurt and broken.

I am not out to hurt you.

 

Do not blame me for another

woman’s mistakes, feed me

with vibes and fronts, string

me along in an emotional

roller coaster because you’re

too weak to deal with your

insecurities.

 

Do not claim that you’re in love

yet you only love the  idea of

being in a relationship with me.

My love isn’t a bag of fries.

 

Do not love me on borrowed

time, give me the steamy sex

sessions through passionate

nights and deny me the deeper

intimacy my heart , soul, mind

and body craves.

I am not your whore.

 

Do not play house with me;

demand “husband treatment”,

groom me for a non-existent

position in your future.

Confuse me with the blurry

pictures of marriage and

family. Our house, our home.

Do not waste my time.

 

Please, Teacher!

Ignore me through the streets

when you see me looking fabulous

because you’re not ready to be

with me. I won’t be mad at you.

 

When our eyes meet and i smile,

quickly lower your gaze and say

goodbye.

 

Let our silence speak in the midst

of a failed conversation.

I’ll look away and you’ll turn around

and walk away.

I won’t be disappointed because

your love isn’t mine.

 

 

Please, Teacher!

Come to me when your balcony of

maturity opens.

I’ll be waiting for you on the other

side and we’ll swirl across the aisle.

 

Persuade me with a pure heart.

Intrigue me with your beautiful soul

and mind.

Turn my body up with pure intentions.

 

Talk to me about love, life and forever

and I’ll lay at your feet and listen with

an enthusiastic ear.

 

Pay close attention to my feelings and

guard my emotions.

I will be understanding and

appreciative of you and your hustle.

I won’t ask for too much.

 

Show me the meaning of love through

your soft caresses.

Speak to my heart, educate me.

I’ll learn all that you’ll teach and forever

stay basking in your embrace as

your favorite student.

 

Hold my hand and pray with me.

Let’s thank God for the love that

we have.

Let’s build our life and our future

as a family because we’re meant

for each other.

 

©FloetryC 2016

 

123444asd

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

