Your Love ( Literally)

We married the day we met and became

tribal, united through spiritual recurrences.

We pledged our love with our hearts, souls

and minds.

Our connection consummated a spiritual

union in the sky.

 

I was dazzling as fiery mars and you were

smashing like apathetic Saturn.

Our union was registered in the galaxy,

creating a deeper cosmic level more

tangible than the theory of evolution.

 

Your love legitimized my life and restored

my faith in humanity.

You renewed my poetic vow with a

reassurance of a solid love as strong as a

hovering eagle and my heart decided that

it wouldn’t be wasted on anyone else,

but you.

A renewal of deep veneration, nurturing

me to revel in womanhood.

 

Your love resonates to the sound of musical

instruments.

Heart strums like the quiver of a violin bow

Romantic arpeggio of desire written in a

minor key.

Souls swirling in unison to the sound of the

drum.

Creating a musical concert our hearts can

understand.

 

Your love is King to me.

Precious like the smell of an old book.

Valuable like a classic old skool record.

Refreshing as the smell of damp ground

on a rainy day.

 

Love, I am not making promises in a glass

house but assurances of my loyalty to

you and Re-assurances of my commitment.

Some days the ocean water may wash up

ashore and I’ll question your integrity.

Storms will come and our ship may get

lost at sea and we’ll forget what brought

us together.

Our love will be tested and you’ll search my

soul and find a compass, I’ll be standing

close to you with an extra boat.

 

I am not talking about a couple of forevers,

but a lifetime of bliss.

 

©FloetryC 2016

f4d84674eb5f59276f7157fd00f94a9e

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

