Birthdays. (On a lighter note)

Birthdays are a burden sometimes.

 

The daunting irony of aging.

Glaring truth of three decades

lived in turmoil.

Mixed feelings from a life that

is fleeting.

A new year, another birthday

celebration.

Catch up is just a game and I

am not winning.

 

Beckoning realities that come

with aging churn my insides.

The childhood bogeyman

somehow evolved into inner

demons that I now fight

every day.

 

Flash backs equivalent to a

nagging woman constantly rubs

my inconsistencies in my face.

Vile creature is always quick

to remind me of my mistakes!

 

Memories of pain paralyze my

thoughts.

Pangs of regret pierce my skin

to expose all the wrong decisions

and things i took for granted.

Time is but a curse; a haven for

procrastinators.

Easily lost, but never recovered.

Time is a haunting concept made

by humans to have a sense of

organization in their pathetic lives.

 

But amidst the painful realities

and ironies that come with aging,

lies gratitude, love and appreciation

for the gift of life.

 

Blessings that come with celebrating

another year, reliving and recollecting

memories with each passing year.

Thanking God for life, health and

recreating new memories with

Birthday Wishes.

 

Birthdays are a Blessing too.

 

©FloetryC 2016

eq12222222222222

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

3 thoughts on “Birthdays. (On a lighter note)”

Leave a Reply

