A Product of Society.

I am a product of a society riddled with hate and bigotry.

A suppressed soul baptized on the streets by tear gas

and forced into submission by fear tactics.

A victim of constant assault by toy soldiers in bullet

proof vests masquerading as law makers, a cause for

ridicule by puppets of society whose brains are chained.

Conformity is the biggest con of Society!

 

I am a product of an aberrant and rotten society.

A two faced society that believes that sexualizing

women is morally sound, yet quick to mock and

trash the products they sell on the media.

A selfish society filled with stigma towards diversity.

Screaming stereotypes based on race, sexuality,

religion, country and tribe.

Bleeding baseless labels, and judgments, sweeping

statements meant to morph me into something i am not.

Mocked because i am different, quickly cast out and

shamed if I don’t live up to a certain way.

 

I am the mirrored plus size woman starving myself to

fit society’s twisted description of beauty, embracing

countless surgeries and liposuction procedures because

society has engraved the word, “rejection” on my

forehead, and tattooed “ugly” on my skin.

 

I am the dark skinned sister bleaching my skin and

wearing extensions.

Society tells me that my skin tone is ugly and brown/light

skin is beautiful; society also tells me that my thick hair

looks ugly, and weaves enhance my glow.

 

I am the endorsed skeleton model shoving chunks of

food down my throat and throwing it up later to

promote the perfect size zero culture on the runway.

Taking delight in countless cosmetic procedures to

adhere to society’s artificial beauty blue print

promoted in magazines, and on Television.

A mask I wear with pride because I am a stooge to society.

A mental disease nipping my soul and pinning me against

people around me.

Harsh realities slicing through my naked flesh like stab wounds.

Emotional scars meant to remind me of the effects of trying

to live up to society’s standards.

 

I am a product of a society where depression is glamorized

and suicide is romanticized.

A society filled with stressed teenagers and depressed people.

A society where real issues are shunned and ignored,

and marinated idealistic people are appreciated,

promoted and followed.

A society covered with a shroud of fake happy faces,

who are constantly fighting inner demons.

Hiding their pain and battling depression because society

forbids weakness and tells them to “Suck it up” and wave

the “strong black woman” blood banner on the street with

a stone face.

 

I am a product of a society where sex sells, and education

and health is optional.

Dysfunctional families, women promoting single

parenthood and the rise of Men going their own way.

A society where children are having children and teenagers

can sing the songs off the charts but can’t spell their names.

A decaying society smudging “Irreconcilable differences”

on the lips of people who are too weak to work out their

issues.

 

I am a product of a society that prioritizes non issues,

illogical factors and plays deaf and dumb to the real

problems affecting  people.

Detached/ misplaced emotions brewing from a society that

has lost its humanity and drug overdose, suicides have

become the new “normal”.

Springing from a decaying society where death no longer

attracts a reaction or sorrow but it’s just another story in

the news that didn’t happen to us.

 

I am an imperfect black woman living in a judgmental society.

Constantly primping my brain cells with my colored vocabulary

to provoke society’s twisted perception of what i should look

like, talk like and act like.

A cause for ridicule, bleeding criticism for a woman society

cannot tame.

A product of society, re-branded.

 

 

 

©FloetryC 2016

 

pobnmmmmpo

 

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

One thought on “A Product of Society.”

Leave a Reply

