The Power of Spoken Word.

I’m not a burlesque performer

but a poet.

Inspirational, insightful and

educative,  more than just

a rhyme.

 

I’m not a jukebox to be told

what subject to write about.

There is no coin slot on my

cerebrum to select a poem

to be performed.

My Spoken word transcends

across all cultures, countries

with no limitations to race,

creed, sexuality and ethnicity.

 

 

My spoken word flows with

the sound of the African

talking drum.

Mimicking the tone and

prosody that encompasses

human speech as my words

swirl imitating a tribal dance.

 

My Spoken word springs

from the Harlem Renaissance

period.

A mismatch of  Langston

Hughes’s weary blues,

“thump, thump, thump” and

my afro floetic essence.

The new age Jazzoetry.

 

The depth of my Spoken word

resonates with the Civil rights

movement.

I speak the language of griots,

deliver parables of my lyrical

uprisings, spitting truth about

the revolution to  victims of

mental slavery.

Splitting facts embroidered in

my enlightening poetic justice.

Emulating Spoken word kings

like the last poets, and

Gil Scott-Heron.

 

My Spoken word isn’t cheap.

I don’t want my quality work

to degenerate into caricature

in which the real message in

the poem becomes confused

with humor.

 

My spoken word poem is not

equivalent to stand up comedy.

I don’t need punch lines or a

killer line to get an ovation.

 

My spoken word doesn’t

require slam competitions.

I am not auditioning to be

heard like the American Idol.

 

My Spoken word is Powerful.

Words woven with knowledge.

Uplifting, honest, inspirational,

and reflective.

 

Are you mad? Good.

Let me give you the truth

and let it marinate for awhile.

Don’t just applaud, understand

the message.

 

Well, i am just a poetic

messenger delivering my

truth to an enlightened

audience that acknowledges

and appreciates the power

of the Spoken Word.

 

©FloetryC 2016

yuuu nm

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

