Bride Price ( An African woman’s story)

“You are just  product of my barter

trade, woman!”. He reminds me.

 

He owns me like his business, protects

me like his assets and demands my

obedience like a dog kept on a leash

because i am nothing but just his

property.

I wear his last name like perfume,

use the title “Mrs.” like a trademark.

An identity I have grown accustomed

to in a patriarchal society where women

are supposed to be seen but not heard.

 

He carries me under his arm like a clutch bag.

Allows me to follow his foot prints at dusk

with my head lowered to the ground

like a shadow.

My silence is encouraged and my thoughts

and opinions are dismissed as irrelevant

because I am just a woman without any

rights living in a man’s world.

 

He tends to me like his poultry.

Pays extra attention to me like the broilers.

Primping me for the egg laying season as

his carnal desire reaches boiling point.

He takes my body whenever he wants

because he owns my body and i am

nothing but the carrier of his seeds that

now populate the earth.

 

He claims that Love is nothing but a fairy

tale and a complete wastage of time.

On some market days, he brings me my

favorite fish. I think that is love.

He hates intelligent women and prefers

ignorance to brains because an

uneducated woman is easier to brainwash

and control.

He says that a woman’s place is in the kitchen,

and forbids me from getting a paying job.

So, I work the heat on the grill all day, take care

of the children and wait on him like a servant

after the day’s tasks for i am just a necessity.

 

He claims he bought me and demands his

return on investment.

A lifetime gratuity to massage his pride,

bear more children and to obey him without

any questions.

He owns me, controls my body and movements.

He controls the way i dress, talk, walk and think.

He is my boss, owner and Husband.

 

I am after all a product of his barter trade.

 

©FloetryC 2016

tre

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “Bride Price ( An African woman’s story)”

Leave a Reply

