Mother Africa (Celebrating Africa Day)

I am mother Africa, a product of the Savannah.

My breasts have fed 54 nations and raised

cities.

I am a hand crafted masterpiece.

The polymer clay statue that rests in the heart

of the Motherland.

 

I am mother Africa, beautifully created.

Home to various flora and fauna,

streaming clear water, breath-taking

scenery, beautiful people and amazing

climate.

 

I am mother Africa, my beauty is personified.

Flowers ornate my vast lands, the wind

whispers my name in a prelude in reference

to love.

I am diversity. Beautifully  fashioned in

decency and respect.

I walk in moral fortification with my head

up because I am resilient.

 

I am Mother Africa, a historical museum.

Slavery describes my name and ashes of

stigma are plastered on my dark skin to

remind me of my plight.

My images are tainted by the media.

My problems are celebrated, my

progress is ignored.

My children’s nakedness is exposed,

and my dirty linen is scattered all

over the world to be mocked, and

abused.

I am just a product of bad publicity

and encouraged ignorance.

Branded by many because of my

deep, rich culture.

Labeled because of the way I speak,

smooth never loud.

My African accent rolls swiftly out

of my mouth like an echo, resonating

to the sound of the talking drum.

 

I am mother Africa, a rising woman

with spiritual wealth.

A strong fortress standing tall even

through the storm with unfaltering faith.

I smile like sister sun in the presence

bottlenecks and harsh realities created

by humanity  because cruelty merely

grazes upon my surface.

I am the unglorified warrior working

the heat of the sun like a mule.

The fierce lioness roaming areas, far

and wide just to feed  her young ones.

 

I am mother Africa, celebrated

every day with music and dance,

art and Poetry.

A treasure, a cauldron of hope.

Ever rising, never losing faith.

I am Home.

 

©FloetryC 2016

CjSvUmcUgAAS1e3

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

