Angry Black Woman

My feelings are stored in a

cauldron.

My emotions are churned inside.

Blood spills across these pages.

Pangs of regret haunt me.

 

I am the proverbial scorned woman

with pouty thick lips and brows

drawn down in a scowl.

A woman molded by hateful society

verbose with unrealistic standards.

Conditioned to hate my skin, and to

disrespect my brothers.

I wear the birth mark of every killed

child.

I carry the burden of every struggling

mother.

My body bears the scars of all the men

who left me.

 

I am the stereotyped bitter woman

with a vile tongue.

Spitting venom, cussing out and

blaming everyone around me for

my mistakes.

Belligerent: Quick to fight.

Haughty attitude: Very defensive.

Loud and obnoxious, paranoid and

insecure.

A Woman with trust issues, thinking

that everyone is out to hurt me.

 

I am the beacon of hope for all angry

black women.

The self proclaimed martyr with a

negative attitude.

Walking around with a stone face

like I don’t need anyone.

Roaming the streets naked waving

my “Strong black woman” blood

stained banner.

Dishing out the same tale about time,

pain and heart break to anyone who

cares to listen.

 

I am so angry.  Angry at myself, angry

at the world!

My soiled linen hangs high like a flag in

the middle of the city.

The world stares at me with disgust;

scolds and judges me for my mistakes.

I feel an outcast among my kin; a

pathetic failure with nothing to offer.

Religion banishes me because of my

imperfections.

My brothers mock my sexuality with

sarcasm rolling out of their tongues.

I am just a bad seed, another statistic

fitting a certain demographic.

 

I am every black man’s nightmare.

The nagging hot headed bitch with

a razor sharp tongue going toe-to-toe

with her male counterparts.

Just another sister lost to a decayed

society.

A broken woman that’s only good for

a fuck, but no one wants to fix.

A crashed label that is now a warning

sign to all young women.

An example at standup comedy shows.

A spoken word lesson at all open mic

nights.

 

I am just an angry black Woman

who wants to be heard.

A woman that needs to be loved

and understood.

A Queen with a broken crown,

a sister with a crashing spirit.

I wear the badge, “Angry black

woman” as a reminder of my

pain and struggles as a woman.

Not to define me, but to build me.

 

I am every black woman dealing

with issues.

I am smudged on the faces of every

woman you have hurt or continue

to disrespect.

Do you want to see me?

Well, look into her teary sad eyes,

and you’ll see me cussing out at you.

 

©FloetryC 2016

tyuuuu

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “Angry Black Woman”

  1. Sis,I feel your words(strong) hitting me like all them shits that blasted me throughout my exposure to places I didn’t naturally belong to but I wanted to be part of.
    Because perhaps of naivety or even ignorance that all men and women are like myself.
    So here I’m coming to where I’m from fitting to rebuild from what’s left of my memorial glory of a soul that’s been in cycles of ups and downs,gaining and losing like the sun and the moon recycling themselves around the planet synonymous of life:the earth,where we all stand tall or short.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beautifully said, Samba.
      I totally commiserate with your comment and i am happy that you were able to connect with this piece.
      Always important to re-focus energies amidst ups and downs and rebuild our lives.
      The Universe takes all of us through these circles…it’s us to find the light at the end of the tunnel.

      Thank you for your amazing comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

