Afroetry

Metaphors seep my floetic veins.

Stroking the hidden part of my

soul into a living rage.

Igniting the flames of my passion.

Beckoning my fluent poetic mind

as i dribble my thoughts and

imaginations across a naked page.

 

I am a poetess by design.

A hue of purple mahogany frolicking

in the radiance of my poetic rainbow.

I am the wind that blows across the

plains of mother Africa, the river Nile

that drains into the Mediterranean sea.

I am the waves of hope, honesty, love,

freedom, passion, pain and pleasure.

 

I am the resident Floetic Queen

delivering my prophetic message.

The voice of the voiceless, the

beating of the soundless drum.

 

I speak the language of the ancestors

with my talking drum.

Of griots or Jalis; recite the isibongo

on deserted lands and play the music

of azmari to an enlightened crowd.

I read whispered lines rehearsed

over the years in my mind, unraveling

truth and preaching wisdom.

 

So, serenade me; feel the depth of

my Afroetry.

Leisurely explore my words, undress

me with your resplendent ability and

let’s swim in sweet epiphanies and

drown in a husky flow.

Freely explore my subtle nuance and

get lost in my verbal sensuality.

My warm verbs and nouns will wrap

around you, warm you through my

spectacular poetry recitation.

 

I am Afroetry, timeless poetry;

Floetry’s ebony sister with words

that age like vintage wine.

I hold art in me- deliver wonderful

and amazing expressions

projecting emotions,  thoughts

and perceptions with each line.

Thoughts overcrowd my mind,

words are ever flowing and my

poetry is over flowing.

 

 

©FloetryC 2016

o098

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

