Trust Issues

She is guarded, and insecure.

Slow to attach, slower to love.

Hard to approach, harder to love.

She wears a protective armor as a

natural involuntary defense to shied

her tender heart.

Conceals emotions to avoid being hostile.

Hides her true feelings to avoid being

hurt again.

 

Vulnerability is wrapped around her

smile when he speaks to her heart.

A peculiar feeling strikes inside her gut.

Familiar stunt, different but usual mold.

His eyes look artificial, emotions seem

faked and words feel recited.

Her mind speculates and her insecurities

take control.

Coincidences summoning a cynical cycle

of past relationships and mishaps leading

to a paradox ending.

The never ending sequel, men disappoint.

 

Memories of her past come to her like

hot flashes, sparking her trust issues.

Recollections of how he buckled her

heart on his passenger seat, fooled

and pasted her loyalty and trust to

his wrist to have full control and

manipulate her.

Haunting memories of how he used

her as a canvas for his entertainment

as she held on to something that

wasn’t hers.

Plastering the strokes of the brush to

mock the colors of her soul and

mutilate her heart.

Leaving her broken, scared and insecure.

 

She became paranoid, suspicious and

very analytical of her surroundings.

She doesn’t trust the flies because

she assumes that they all look like

spies ready to judge and criticize her.

She is a afraid of her own shadow at

dawn because it reminds her of pain.

Every man is a suspect, a  love assassin

ready to pounce on her heart and soul

unsuspectingly with words and romantic

inferences used as guns, and knives.

So, she questions their integrity and

humiliates their intentions with her

trust issues.

Scaring every potential partner away

because another man run off with

her affections, destroyed her trust

and left her with painful memories.

 

©FloetryC 2016

freee

 

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “Trust Issues”

  1. For whatever reason I can always relate to your poetry. This poem makes me feel as if knew exactly who I am. My God continue to bless you with talent. I appreciate and love your work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Yasmin for the compliment and for appreciating my work. Means a lot to me as a poet. It’s good to know that you can relate to this poem. May God bless you and all that you do, Queen. Much Love. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

