Perfect Imperfection

Beauty is placed in our individualization.

I am a masterpiece- molded with

intrinsic flaws, delicately designed to

accentuate my uniqueness.

Unapologetically myself, comfortable

in my perfect imperfection

 

My imperfections tell stories without words.

A personal poetry anthology describing

my stretch marks scattered simultaneously

like strokes of a paint brush set wild and free,

my chipped nail polish, flabby arms and a

tummy with gentle hills.

The underrated beauty queen, the kind you

don’t see in magazines.

My pages contain chapters with my peculiar

pet peeves, my history, grumpy days and

insecurities.

 

I wear my scars and flaws like a fashion

model on the runway waiting to be crowned

the next top model.

Defying beauty standards set by perceptive

society. Embracing originality, my true

beauty- unfiltered.

 

I love my imperfections because they are apart

of who i am.

I love the way my rich African accent rolls easily

out of my mouth.

I love the way my face lights up when i speak

about my love for Poetry.

I love the way my face dulls on gloomy days.

I love the look of confusion on my face amidst

controversy.

I love the way my afro shrinks after a wash.

I love the way i drag myself  lazily out of bed

every morning.

I love my no-make up face, exposing my blemishes.

I love the way my eyes wander in space or how

i get lost in the presence of nature.

I love the journeys my creative mind takes me

through- wild imaginations and fantasies.

I love my awkward voice especially when i try

to sing in the shower, my crazy dance moves

and funny laugh.

I love that i just be myself, speak my mind, be

the woman that i was meant to be – wild, kind,

fun, loving, intelligent and free.

Open minded, straight forward – without

pretense, without holding back.

I just love drowning in the essence of me.

Appreciating my perfect imperfections,

loving all of me.

 

©FloetryC 2016

qw1234

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

