School of Life.

“Life without problems is a school without lessons.”

 I am embedded in the deadlocks of life.

A student always in and out of detention.

Stuck with failed research papers, still

taking retakes, still hustling.

 

Challenges are the speed bumps on the road.

The school of life is molded by uncertainties

and takes many causalities.

Doldrums of life kill your roseate dreams,

opportunities ignore your poignant pleas

and the pangs of emotional lacerations

created by experience squash your path

in mud.

 

I am but a student still roaming through

the corridors of life’s large classroom-

flipping through the pages of mother earth’s

classics stashed at the bottom of the archives

section.

Re-playing life’s ironies, re-living my mistakes

and refreshing my mind with forgotten lessons.

 

The school of life is the most valuable of all

degrees and toughest of exams.

A mystifying journey filled with experiences to

learn from.

I have felt the chagrin of failure many times and

the prestige of success.

I have gone to bed hungry a couple of times and

also wrapped spoiled food in a paper bag.

I have lost friends and made new friends.

I have felt the pain of loss and tasted the lips

of victory.

I have cried myself to sleep a few times and

laughed hysterically on brighter days.

I have heard the distant and distinct cries of

pain and agony and also the sweet, soothing

music of love and happiness.

I have received unmentionable hatred and also

immeasurable love.

I have lost myself trying to please people and

found myself in the warm embrace of Spoken

word Poetry.

Amidst all, i have learned to just live.

 

So, turn your frustrations into celebrations

because life is a great canvas and you should

throw all the beautiful paint you can on it and

create memories.

Like a camera, focus and capture the good times.

Use your challenges as a yardstick to learn and

do better next time.

Dance like no one is watching, and love like

you’ve never been hurt.

Life is a gift from God- an unending journey

filled with lessons.

A peculiar classroom whose degree is printed on

death certificates and achievements are

read as eulogies.

 

©FloetryC 2016

meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “School of Life.”

Leave a Reply

