Once Upon a time( When i was just like YOU)

Once upon a time, i was just like you.

I would laugh exactly like you.

Let loose with giggles painting my face,

eyes brimming with tears of mirth as

pearls of laughter smudge my face and

take over my body.

I’d wear a beautiful smile like yours.

My face would beam with sheer delight.

I’d smile so hard like a crescent lit up my face.

Blush as if the sun were on the other side of

my sparkling teeth.

 

Once upon a time, honesty kissed my lips,

enchantment adorned my body and

enlightenment was my makeup.

I’d say “hello” and mean it, beam with so

much joy and bid my adieus.

Flirt with the sun on a hot day and wish

you a good afternoon.

Dance with the wind and say, “Have a

good day”, or “see you tomorrow” with

great anticipation and excitement.

I’d say, “I love you” with so much emotion

and mean it- without any hidden intentions

or expectations.

 

Once upon a time, i danced with so much zeal

just like you.

I’d swirl around artistically with so much

enthusiasm and energy with my intricate

foot step movements.

With my graceful twists and turns, my

kitenge skirt swished and swayed along

to the beat of the African drum.

It was amazing!

 

Once upon a time, i was young and free

just like you.

My dreams were limitless and the future

was mine.

My perception of the world was beautiful

and i let my imaginations run wild.

I loved openly without any inhibitions.

My feelings and thoughts flowed freely as i

basked on the beach of endless opportunities.

I was unstoppable in my pursuit and determined

to succeed.

 

But now, i camouflage like a chameleon and

hide my true emotions behind the shroud

of fake happiness.

I wear the duck pouty face as a trend.

I change like the weather: cold as winter, hot

as the summer sun and moody as cloudy weather.

I wear the cloth of ambiguity and walk around with

a selfish sense of individuality.

 

I have been molded by judgmental society and

become mentally enslaved.

My emotions are forged; these thoughts and

feelings are not my own.

My smiles are as rare as true love in these times

and my laughter is more like a clown’s laugh.

I dance like my feet are hurting and smile like i got

halitosis and poorly done dental implants.

 

See, I have become guarded and conditioned

myself to the ways of the world.

My opinions are limited and i say things i do

not mean.

“Hello” when I mean to say, “bye”.

“Good bye” when i actually mean to say,

“Good riddance”

I say, “nothing is wrong” when my whole world

is tumbling down.

My whole essence is characterized by lies and self

doubt; tainted with irregularities, fear and insecurities.

My words are woven with doubt and i speak

without confidence

I am afraid of the future, slow to love, too scared

to put myself out there and take risks because

of the chagrins of failure and the lash judgments

computed by the human poll and drafted as statistics.

 

Look, my daughter! Pay close attention to these

words.

Once upon a time, my eyes shone as bright as yours.

My dreams were endless, and the sun illuminated

my beauty.

Everything was crystal clear and love meant everything.

I was happy, very cheerful, intelligent, free, beautiful,

and unstoppable…at a different time, another era.

Once upon a time when i was just like you.

©FloetryC 2016

67

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

