Emotional abuse.

He is the master of deception.

Sharp tongue, quick wit.

The gas lighting guru wearing a

manipulative cloak and controlling

hue.

Lethargic feelings, locked in by

his silence.

Lighting fires into my mouth with

reverse psychology.

I am nothing but a prisoner in his

gilded cage.

Shackled by the anguish and drama

he swore was love.

Wrestling with my conscience and

abstaining from verbal exchange-

walking on eggshells, constantly on

the edge…never knowing what to

say or how to prevent an attack.

 

He batters me emotionally- hits

me with hurtful words and slices

me with snaps from a plethora of

verbal abuse.

Feeds me with silent treatment,

frequent name calling, and a bowl

of insults in the event of an

argument or disagreement.

He twists my words, replicates

different meanings and selectively

omits information to defend himself.

Accusatory! Using mental blackmail

to torment and drain me emotionally.

Making me feel straitjacketed and

breaking down my strong built walls.

Leaving me blaming myself, second

guessing and apologizing for nearly

everything.

 

His words are like scalpels.

Scathing information out right

to my bone.

He makes incisions through my skin

and inscribes, “stupid” and selfish”

through the hemispheres of my

brain- causing momentary spasms in

my cerebral regions .

His words weigh heavy on my chest

and vocal chords- corroding my will

and calcifying my spirit.

 

So, I learned how to go silent and how

to play dead.

Hide my tears and put on a tough face.

Worship him like a dog and waggle my

tail at his call.

Limit my opinions and let him have

his way.

Not to question him or correct him

when he’s wrong.

Feed his ego in constant agreement

like a stooge.

Lay repulsive on his bed of lies and let

him smother me with orchestrated love

making and pour salt on my wounds

because i was entangled in emotional

abuse and afraid of leaving.

 

Maybe if his insults had bludgeoned

my honey golden skin complexion the

way a hard punch would destroy the

muscle filaments in my soft body.

Maybe then he’d notice how much

pain he inflicted on me with his

frequent verbal abuse.

 

He took a part of me each time

he abused me emotionally-

ripped my self esteem, and destroyed

my confidence with a barrage of

botanical lacerations and constant blame.

 

Now i roam through the world with a

smile on my face but deep wounds in

my system that will take ages to heal.

 

Emotional abuse leaves no visible scars

you see but deep wounds inside the

heart, mind and soul.

 

©FloetryC 2016

nice

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

5 thoughts on “Emotional abuse.”

Leave a Reply

