Midlife Crisis

The midlife crisis permeates

every age range.

Stagnant- intent is sterilized.

His life is on the brink of

deconstructing itself.

Bound by some far flung

forgotten fantasy, he walks

with the crutches of

desperation- roaming

through the corridors of life

with artificial attachments.

Constantly fighting the

ravages of time as he clings

onto his youth in hope of

excitement and some sort

of fulfillment.

 

Life’s ironies beckon as

anxieties drown his mind

creating an emotional

upheaval.

Wading through a

dreams-cape reality, his

memories flounder.

Everything seems vague

and full of doubt- rhyming

synonymously with his

receding hairline fluctuating

weight and ageing skin.

 

Presence of absences fill

the void.

The dawning blues that

come with the economic

depression, age, wasted

time and unfulfilled dreams

replay the politics of the

pronouns for his future

spouse on a pirated mix-tape.

 

He sinks into his old sofa

with worry wrinkling his

brow.

Rubbing his chin, he forages

deep down inside to uncover

his faith and appreciate the

rest of his days.

 

©FloetryC 2016

123xczbnmk

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

