Moving on ( Art of letting go)

Your vacancy sustains me, absence

accentuates my best attributes as i

spill the last drops of ink in a poem

about you.

The moon reflects a bright visage of

your memory this cold night.

My soul extricates from restricting

bars as i sail the dauntless waves

and leave the dismal shore.

The final vapor leaves my vents

ushering in moments of clarity and

acceptance.

Your memory is now as evanescent

as a whiff of fragrant perfume.

I view life with exuberance through

a new pair of lenses.

 

My mind conveys lost memories

with a brazen chord filled with

routine thoughts.

Regret plagiarizes my emotions

with constant blame- letting tears

sting like bitter-sweet vinegar.

Brief was our time, yet the

journey reached far.

 

Breaking the strings of the past;

i move forward with giant strides-

each step weighing a little less.

Erasing imprints of your hands on

me, i remove tattoos of our love

with poetic therapy treatment,

stow copies of our anthology at

the bottom of the archives section

and resume painting the abandoned

dream sequence with new flames

healing my embittered heart.

 

I take baby steps- letting go of

what might have been and start

again on a clean slate, re-creating

new memories on a plain canvas.

 

©FloetryC 2016

moving-on

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

5 thoughts on “Moving on ( Art of letting go)”

Leave a Reply

