Fear of Failure

Chagrins of failure are my hardest hurdles.

They shatter my confidence like a mixture

of liquid nitrogen and a flower.

They send my thoughts in disarray and allow

dilemmas of indecision to torment me.

 

Procrastination keeps me hostage.

My failures are as vast as the sea.

They blur my vision, block progression and

enable stagnancy.

My unfulfilled dreams, faltering hope and

crashed faith form a peculiar burial ground

in my mind- souls of delayed projects and

unaccomplished goals bawl out as i cower in

Fear.

 

Fear of failure is inevitable like Taylor swift’s

pathetic break up songs – a non verbal

reminder of laziness and time’s distress.

Fear sneaks at night, seeps into my skin; runs

the treadmill of my spine and imbeds itself into

my soul –weakening me, breaking my spirit.

 

Failure is the shadow of success- my sobriety.

It renders me useless, makes me confront

and admit to guilt.

Fear of failure makes me afraid to try.

I walk with my head lowered to the ground-

avoiding the sun as beams of opportunity slip

through my eyes.

Scared of the blinding rays of sunlight- quitting

before I even try.

Ignoring the distressed face of my fantasies

and the haunting stare of possibilities.

 

A stellar display upon an empty field re-writes

verses of retrospection.

The wind breathes courage and confidence on

my skin.

Realization comes to me like bolts of lightning,

fear dissipates to nothingness.

I emancipate my mind from this psychological

deterrent that had kept me chained and face

my fears like a champ.

 

©FloetryC 2016

yaaaas

Note: I just took the leap of faith and decided to compile my first Poetry book. The fear of failure has been an obstacle to  many of my dreams. Fear of failure blocks the window of opportunity, mistakes are the portal of discovery.

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

6 thoughts on “Fear of Failure”

  1. Beautifully written! The fear of failure is one that I am very familiar with, but to quote my mother, nothing beats failure but a try. I had to come to this conclusion for myself I as realized my fear was getting me nowhere. Your poem really touches on something that I think a lot of people struggle with. Great job conveying your emotions and ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the compliment, Queen.
      I am happy that you were able to connect with this piece.
      I have had to deal with the fear of failure for a while…until i realized that it wasn’t getting me anywhere at all. I totally agree with what your mum said.
      Fear blocks opportunities, and keeps one stagnant.
      I wrote this poem to reach out to others who are also dealing with the same fear. Hoping that they will resonate with this piece, and get inspired.

      I appreciate your compliment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

