Wife, not Ex-wife

Make me a promise of love.

We’ll make a pact to thee and i’ll woo

orion for you to see.

Take my hand and circle your intentions

on my ring finger.

Etch my future in your palms, draw a line

between me and you that our commitment

will forever hold- love will always stay.

Wrap me in your hands and kiss me softly.

Let’s take the world by storm, hop on to

the fastest sailing boat and start our lives.

I am now your wife.

 

Take a stroll with me through the corridors

of our marriage.

We’ll bask under the watchful eye of forever

as love rhymes with our voices and

compliments our actions.

Mutual respect, trust and faithfulness will

reside in the master suite of our hearts.

We’ll wade through the changes and realities

together as a couple.

Exploring one another; growing together.

 

Make me a promise of forever.

We’ll forge a treaty of forgiveness and

reconciliation and pray that our celestial stars

never collide.

I don’t want us to be just another statistic, a

failed marriage, a broken story.

 

Spare me from the vacant signs in the room

amidst disagreement and contemptible chides.

Disconnection springing from lack of effective

communication.

Contentious marriage sinking under the abyss

of broken promises.

Damaged mortality; anger conjuring words

into shadows.

Withhold that sarcasm and scorn and let’s not

liquidate our joy.

Monotony may visit for a while- you might

grow tired from a boring routine.

Arguments will breed like mosquitoes, our

flame will extinguish.

Complaints will eventually fill our home with

a peculiar stench, expectations will depreciate.

Love will be tested, faith will falter, forever will

fade and you’ll succumb to weakness.

Everything broken will be debated and divorce

will linger in your mind like that old skool classic

you can’t get off your mind.

 

There, at that moment.

Remember our promise of love.

Recall our treaty of reconciliation.

Let our beautiful memories and our amazing

journey lighten up your face.

Just when you think that it’s all over, look o’er

your shoulder and you’ll see me on my knees

running my fingers all over our wedding band

with tears smudged on my face.

Dying to kiss you, ready to embrace you and

start all over.

Darling, I am not planning to be your Ex-wife.

I want to be your only wife, your woman, your friend, your Queen.

 

©FloetryC 2016

wife-ex-wife

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

