The Revolution starts from the mind

Caged within prison bars.

Mentally incapacitated.

The rigid education system only

taught her how to idolize Europe

and America but to despise her own.

She was deprived of her rich History,

Stripped of her culture and denied

any ties to her ancestral roots.

 

She became a child of conformity.

The genetically modified pumpkin.

Conditioned, culturally programmed

to think and act a certain way.

Suffocated by the realm of society.

Her mind is filled with graves of

thoughts once past.

She toils in a mental plantation.

 

Her mind doesn’t belong to her.

Cosigned, manipulated with a

corrupted code.

Molded to accentuate a grand design.

Programmed to fear.

 

Her mind is a battlefield of uncertainty

and rhetorical questions.

A war ravaged area filled with doubt as

she battles an identity crisis.

The bars rattle, the wind howls.

Streams of consciousness overflow.

Seeds of knowledge sprout.

Reality hovers through the sky and

ushers in moments of clarity.

 

She breaks the chains and frees her

mind from the entrapment of the

well furnished gilded cage.

She re-aligns her thoughts with the truth.

A mind not impeded even to the slightest

by the barriers of space and time.

The revolution starts from the mind.

 

©AfroetryC 2016

freee

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

