I am History

I am a fossil from the past, the almanac, the information piled

in the archives section. Your greatest reference, your history.

 

I am Lucy, the 1974 fossil in Ethiopia’s afar region.

The root of life’s genesis, your direct ancestor.

The perceptive beast with a very primitive snout but with big brains.

See, I originated from Nubia; bathed in the Nile river and swam

across to the Congo river.

I was there when Kush was driven out of Egypt, witnessed my girl

Sheba establish the colony of Axum.

I still have fond memories of our fellowship at the Coptic Church.

 

I saw the Zagwe dynasty assume control of present day Ethiopia,

mingled with the artisans at La Venta and helped the Mayans

develop large tomb pyramids.

I was chilling with Constantinople when the crusaders captured

him and plundered the Byzantine empire.

I also witnessed the introduction of the first domed round basilica.

 

I was among the first African slaves brought to the North American

colony of Jamestown, Virginia in 1619 to help in the production of tobacco.

I endured the turbulent era of Jim crow until the U.S supreme court

declared the civil rights act of 1875 unconstitutional.

I saw the first Boer war between Great Britain and the Boers of

Transvaal and orange free state, fought alongside Bambaata in the

Natal revolt until he was killed.

 

I saw the iceberg that sunk the titanic in 1912, watched the filming

of the MGM lion a few years later.

I also witnessed the rise of fascism in Italy under Mussolini and

Hitler’s Nazism.

I watched great powers fall after the second world war and the

start of the cold war.

 

I am the niggerati from the Harlem renaissance.

I got high on Langston Hughes’s smooth jazz poetry, watched

Aaron Douglass exemplify the new negro philosophy with art,

witnessed Jacob Lawrence become the first mainstream African

American artist.

I performed with Josephine baker in “la revue negre” in Paris and slow

danced to “what a little moon light can do” by Billie holiday.

 

Marcus Garvey’s shipping passenger line, “black star line” facilitated

my return to my ancestral land.

I saw the rise of African Nationalists like Kwame Nkrumah, Leopold

Senghor and Patrice Lumumba.

I helped W.E Dubois compile, “Souls of black folk” and nursed him

til he died in 1963.

The next day, i listened to Martin Luther King’s “I have a dream” speech.

Got inspired and marched with him from Selma to Montgomery in 1965.

I watched Huey Newton and Bobby Seale form the black panther movement.

I was there when the civil rights act of 1968 was signed.

 

I saw young Africa grow up and become independent from Colonial rule.

Witnessed Uganda’s flag replace the Union Jack in 1962.

Felt the waves of euphoria fill the continent and the buzz of freedom spread

like mosquitoes.

I was there when Nelson Mandela was freed after spending 27years behind

prison walls.

I witnessed F.W. de Klerk create a multi-racial democracy and saw the Madiba

become President of South Africa in 1994.

Maya Angelou went on to describe me in her poem, “Phenomenal woman”

I lived to see Ellen Johnson Sirleaf become President of Liberia and saw the

reality of a black president in the United States.

 

I am the photo-shopped fossil of the 21st Century, the unwritten manuscript,

the unfinished historical documentation, the manipulated scripts and pirated

copies being produced and sold on the internet.

The writer, the Spoken word poet, the thinker, the revolutionist, the Pan Africanist,

the historian, the student.

The half baked information wrapped around journalism, the tabloids –

Their story, not my story.

I will be His-story.

I am History.

 

©FloetryC 2016

educddd

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

4 thoughts on “I am History”

    1. Thank you for the compliment, and for reading.
      I appreciate.
      Ha, ha Quite the line… I love me some W.E.B Dubois. I actually just read in a way similar to the accent of the niggerati.

      Like

Leave a Reply

