A wordless farewell

She felt a qualm of anxiety from his abrupt silence.

The uncanny scent and burble of the night tickled

her intuition.

Their love had proved a bitter disillusion.

The rhizome of distance had grown longer and

time’s constant betrayal created a hushed repulsive

spectacle in their hearts.

Their connection was broken and their world swirled

to a beat-less song under a heat wave.

 

With mutiny in his mind, he suppressed every sign

of shock as his baritone voice gathered remonstrance.

His rejection was civil- a bumptious, succinct reply.

A classy expression of no importance, and an

eloquent yet insensitive response to her feelings.

“It’s over between us- It’s not you, but me. You will

find someone better”.

 

His flippant tone reverberated inside her head as

the wheel of thought rotated in a bleak groove.

The abandoned meadow inside her mind suddenly

looked irresponsive as she bobbed her head to

his cold rap battle.

 

The din inside her mind subsided.

Without a word, her heart abdicated whatever

she felt for him.

Feelings of pity momentarily filled her head  like

hot flashes.

Emptiness took over as she retired to an island of

solitude, silence and serenity.

Leaving him to his declaration of rejection.

Leaving him posing rhetorical questions to himself

in the presence of guilt.

Indifferent to his revolt of personal conviction and

reverse psychology, her heart finally found closure

amid the dreadful calamities of time.

 

Her response to his blaring speech on rejection

was a wordless farewell.

 

Without hate or drama- she quietly deleted herself

from his equation.

 

©FloetryC 2017

emotions

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

4 thoughts on “A wordless farewell”

  1. Found myself in this situation, no a good feeling. Just got to continue on and chalk it up to experience and a well learned lesson. Well said Sister/Queen as usual.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

