She is just a Friend. (Literally)

Funny how her name is a hot topic at our

dinner table.

Oh! how her eyes shine like the stars when she

shows up unexpectedly at one of our dates.

How she smiles and curls her glossy lips when

you walk up to her.

Darling, i see the way she looks at you.

How your eye balls dance in excitement when

she says your name.

Sweet Jesus! I’d give everything and anything

for you to look at me that way.

Now i am forced to recoil my suspicions and

thoughts because she is just a friend.

 

Funny how she constantly blows up your cell.

The way your face lights up with a peculiar

enthusiasm in the middle of the day when you

receive a text message from her.

The way your conversation sounds like musical

instruments.

Complimenting each other like treble and bass.

Completing each other’s sentences.

Damn, i crave a connection like that.

 

Funny how she is the cause of most of our fights.

How you openly flirt with her on social media.

How smoothly her name rolls out of your mouth.

How your mood yields each time you meet her.

How you feel pumped up each moment you think

of her.

How you quickly dismiss my concerns when i

say her name.

“Woman, you’re just paranoid – she is just a friend”.

Brush it off with a shrug, “she’s harmless”.

 

Funny how i am always caught up in the twilight zone

when we run into her at the store.

The way you embrace her like a lover –and how her

lips shiver as if initiating a kiss.

And i am left to ask; “what just happened here?”

How you run like a three-legged animal to her rescue

when she’s in some sort of trouble.

How she knows all our problems and i know little

about her.

How quickly you choose her instead of me.

But she’s just a friend and i am meant to accept that.

 

Funny that all i do is talk about her.

How my mind is constantly fighting unending battles.

Questioning my integrity amidst such peculiarity.

Forming a chord with his pathetic melody.

Dancing naked in our house like a concubine to his

controversial jam.

Convincing myself that i am still his Queen even

when the pangs of reality quickly hasten my confidence

with a bitter truth, and harsh reality in front of me.

She is the woman that got his heart and mind.

And right now,  i am just a fool stunting to his lame

charade.

Acting dumb and deaf to, “She is just a friend”.

 

©FloetryC 2017

ughh

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

6 thoughts on “She is just a Friend. (Literally)”

    1. Thank you, Queen for appreciating this piece. I have been in such a dire circumstance a time in my life… and i have also talked to women who have experienced the same. It’s sad…I am happy that you appreciate my poetry. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

