The Hue of an Immigrant (For a friend)

I am an outsider, a foreigner, an alien-

just an F-1 status.

The great American problem, the

perceptive illegal

immigrant in search of freedom’s

glistening beauty; the crumpled heap

filling up the seas.

 

Destiny willed me to be born on this

side of the periphery.

Doldrums of life baptized me a

wanderer with itchy feet.

Fate rendered me an émigré.

I roam the insomniac streets of New

York, through the suburbs of animosity

with a dull language and plain accent.

Unfair in their filtration, i am mocked

and literally dictated to.

“Your accent stinks. You should sound

‘a wee bit’ more American”.

Marginalized and demoralized, i skate

through the fences of social snooty

yard just to fit within their skins.

 

I am a refugee walking on a

judgmental tight rope through the

barbed wire of segregation.

My conscience is stripped at

sketched border-lines like a common

criminal- humiliated; integrity is

questioned.

My identity is smudged on the atlas;

banned and restricted to travel.

 

I am the hunter and the hunted.

Sanguine fluid of my brothers and sisters

flows through the subway re-opening

old fences of my pathetic history.

Better a slave, but not a refugee.

 

My graffito is displayed along pencil

drawn borders.

Painting on the wall mural tells my

plight as an immigrant.

The fire inside my soul burns in

the dead of the night like lady

liberty’s torch of enlightenment.

Bellicosity meets my consciousness.

 

I, too sing of freedom.

I embrace the broken shackles at the

feet of lady liberty and pay my poetic

homage to freedom and humanity.

I wear the face of every immigrant.

This is my hue.

 

©FloetryC 2017

hue

Art by: Kadir Nelson

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

2 thoughts on “The Hue of an Immigrant (For a friend)”

Leave a Reply

