Teach me how to Love you.

Teach me how to love you, King.

And I will ditch my nasty attitude,

control this smartass mouth and

aura of femininity that i mistakenly

thought intrigued you.

Paint me a vignette of your love.

Illuminate the darkness from the past

that runs inside my soul with the

light of you love.

And I will break down to my knees, hold

your feet and never let go.

 

Help me understand the man that you

are so i can swirl to your beats.

Feed my mind with your mental adventures.

Summon my heart to the temple of love

and i will get lost in your warm embrace.

Turn my head with your perception

of romance.

Show me that romance isn’t equivalent

to seasons with your awesome spontaneity.

And that consistence outweighs intermittent

gestures of love.

Impress me with the little things.

 

Make me understand the geography

of your soul so i can know when to speak

or leave you alone.

Assure me that your silent eloquence amidst

disagreement is not a sign of disengagement

but a plea of expression and adjustment.

That way, i will use a compass and won’t get

lost at sea.

 

 

Show me that your pride and ego won’t

infiltrate our foundation.

Show me that your strong masculinity won’t

make me feel less of a woman.

Assure me that my verbal delinquency won’t

attract a desultory conversation with your

dedication to me; patience and tolerance.

 

So, here I stand like a salesman pitching

his product.

Sparking your heart with my attractive

product line.

Hoping that you’ll take my hand and lead

me to the mansion of your heart.

Drain the negative streams built up within

my heart’s chambers with the soft touch

of your reassurance.

Teach me to love you so i can love you better.

Listen to you, understand you and respect you.

Tolerate you, know what you want, what you need…

 

Your expectations, darling.

What hurts you.

Your intentions, love.

Your aspirations…

Your goals, sugar.

So, i can support you.

Your words amidst silence,

So i can know whether to kiss you.

Your history, King.

So, I can understand your past and

not make the same mistakes.

 

Teach me how to love you, King.

Indulge me.

I am your student today.

Enthusiastic; willing to learn.

 

©FloetryC 2017

a17e7eebe5e6ee1f734ca5f1f53d2192

 

 

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

1 thought on “Teach me how to Love you.”

  1. Thank you Sister/Queen for being the voice of so many of us Sisters. Telling the story of how we need the simple things from those Brothers/Kings’s love and companionship. It’s simple but the key to our love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

