My Muse

My muse is the great Hausa warrior, Aminatu.

The defiant Ethiopian empress, Amanirenas.

A woman with an undefiable spirit like Yaa

Asantewa.

My muse is as beautiful as Queen Nefertiti,

gleams with Cleopatra’s sex appeal- depicted

by Maya Angelou in the poem,

“Phenomenal woman”.

 

My muse is a soulful jazz song.

Smooth rhythmic dance between the piano,

bass and drums.

Versatile horn squirting sweet note melodies.

Cool headed sax moaning with pleasure.

 

My muse is artistic.

Creative, subtle and dramatic.

A dalliance between the paint brush and canvas.

As beautiful as Vincent van Gogh’s, “Starry night”.

Distinct and epic as Michelangelo’s ceiling mural

on the Sistine chapel.

 

My muse emblazons humanity and love.

Proclaims truth in undertone-

Preaches against hate and bigotry.

Wears the scars of the afflicted and

mistreated.

Carries the pain and burdens of every

mother- and  the worry and distress of

every father.

My muse is a beacon of hope for the

aggrieved,  exploited and segregated.

 

My muse is intelligent.

His knowledge is as vast as the sea.

His ethereal body embodies all history

and philosophy.

Stimulates my vintage thoughts with mind

blowing conversations.

His baritone voice puts me at ease….

He flows smoothly like sand in an hour glass.

Disrupts my monotony with his mental

proclamation of love.

Shifts my focus and feeds my soul.

 

My muse is King.

A hopeless romantic whispering warm

loving endearments in my ears in the middle

of the day.

The dripping sensual conversations wrapped

in pillow talk.

The respect tattooed on his mahogany hue.

The love embroidered in his heart.

The beauty reflecting outwardly from his soul.

He wears the cloak of chivalry and speaks to

my heart in rhyme.

Cadence keeping with time- as our hearts

beat to a synchronized beat.

 

My muse is spontaneous: can be a whisper

or a yell.

It can be as peaceful as nature- eloquence is

encrypted in my mind’s silent expression.

My muse also weeps on paper as i write

my pain- metaphors scream out of context,

adjectives are exploited.

My muse is as hopeful and promising as dusk,

and as mischievous and unpredictable as dawn.

 

My muse seduces me with beautiful inspiration.

Educates me, enlightens me.

Broadens my mind- helps me see the world for

what it is.

 

 ©FloetryC 2017

 

 

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a Reply

