Chains of belief (When self doubt whispers)

The world echoes self belief.

Life’s choir choruses in unison to

this allegation.

But these feelings evade me.

Opportunity dodges me like a bullet.

I am only a nomad in this journey.

Retiring every night to the universe’s

leaking roof and squeaking bed.

 

It’s hard to believe in yourself when

your back is pinned to concrete while

the cold tickles your feet.

When your head is as heavy as sand

and your faith is as fragile as a house

of cards.

When your dreams turn to specters in

the dark and your fears chase you

around the room.

When your bed becomes a crypt and

reality provokes your conscience.

When your thoughts scatter in the

fields in disarray and you feel like

you’re losing your mind.

When the gossiping walls mock you

and the clouds rain insults on you.

When the wind puts you down and

the sun’s rays dim your vision.

When you feel like a bench wench

massaging the pride of conglomerate

society daily on a 9 to 5.

When hope flees and your strength

retires to an island of abandoned

dreams.

When the bite of reality stings like a

bee and all you get is your mind’s

rhetoric questions and fate’s

accusatory look.

What’s a black woman to do?

 

It’s hard to defend the integrity of

this system with a rioting belly,

rheumy eyes and tired feet.

Walking the judgmental tight rope

with chains around my neck.

A slave to society! Believing in the

whims of this twisted map.

Not good enough to paint the sky.

Not fit to ride in the matatu of success.

Not talented enough to compete in life’s

tirade show.

A poetic minuscule stowed in the boot

of plight with forgotten dreams.

 

See, it’s hard to plan your future

with shaky hands.

Balancing on the bridge of doubt

and  uncertainty.

Married to society-mentally divorced.

The world whispers a sweet melody

of self belief in my quiet.

Perhaps…I’ll listen this time.

The music slowly blankets my

unruly thoughts and strokes my

meditative mind.

Sense ditches nonsense.

Possibility suddenly looks attractive.

Liberated! It feels great believing in

yourself sometimes.

 

©FloetryC 2017

i love ittttt

 

 

 

Author: AfroetryC

I am an African woman and a mother to a precious little angel. I love to use the term "Afro-floetic Queen" mostly to describe my poetry and my roots. I love poetry...art, soul music and inspirational bits of knowledge to offer advice and counseling to those who need it. I can be very witty, straight forward but fun. Ha. ha... A colorful perception of the world - expressed in my poetry. I want to inspire people with my Poetry...give them hope, while also advising them. Life is a learning process and i am happy when one of my pieces directly affects or inspires one of my readers. Let's take a detour around experience, and let me fill your minds with sweet poetic juices.... Note: Just changed my user name from FloetryC to AfroetryC because the latter is more personal and describes my Spoken Word Poetry better.

Leave a comment